Dr. Gilbert Newman Receives The Paul Nelson Award From CCTC

During the NCSPP 2023 Summer Meeting, Dr. Gilbert Newman was bestowed with the Paul Nelson Award from the Council of Chairs of Training Councils.

Catherine Grus, Ph.D., APA Chief of Education, made an appearance to announce Dr. Newman as the winner of this prestigious award.

The Paul Nelson Award recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves through significant, long-term service to professional education and training, as evidenced by leadership in bringing together parties in a common purpose to address important problems. While many awards already recognize outstanding “achievement” in psychology, the Paul Nelson Award recognizes the spirit and model of collaboration established by Paul in his work with CCTC, a true statesman and diplomat.